Image
4

Know Your Coffee: Espresso, Mocha and Cappuccino

Know Your Coffee: Espresso, Mocha and Cappuccino

Bo’s Coffee is the closest I have to Starbucks at home.

I was probably the happiest person the day I found out that Bo’s will be brewing for the Butuanons. I had only visited Bo’s once in Greenhills when I was still staying in San Juan City so I was not familiar with their flavors. To my surprise they have my fave (Sbux christmas flavor) toffee nut. And what’s even better is that they have it the whole year round. In an instant I convinced my boyfriend, family and close friends to drop by the coffee shop more often not only to have my dose of toffee nut but in order for me to avail of their coffee book too ^_^

And speaking of coffee book, here is your coffee 101 lesson for the day courtesy of Bo’s:

“Coffee actually grows on trees–first as coffee flowers, and then as coffee cherries. Although pruned short in cultivation, a coffee tree can grow up to 30 feet high. It can live as long as 20-30 years, preferring a rich soil, mild temperatures, and frequent rain.

What makes it even more special is that not everyone can grow coffee. As an evergreen tropical shrub, it only grows in countries that belong to the Coffee Belt.”

According to Wikipedia the bean belt is the area between the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn and these areas are where the 20 largest coffee producers are.

See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bean_Belt

Now if you are wondering what is the difference between an espresso from a caffee americano, a mocha from a cappuccino, refer to the visual espresso field guide of Bo’s above.

4 thoughts on “Know Your Coffee: Espresso, Mocha and Cappuccino

  1. did you know that once upon a time coffee was banned by the church as they thought it was a devilish drink because they did not understand the effects it has after drinking? i am guessing they were drinking pure latte or cafe barako hehehe.

Leave a Reply

