Image
3

It’s Never Too Late

SAM_6710

If you are among my handful of loyal readers then you would know that lately I am fond of hanging out at Bo’s Coffee. Yesterday my boyfriend and I spent our Fridate at Bo’s before we call it a night.

SAM_6703

It was my first time to read an issue of Town & Country and I am more than happy to have randomly picked it. Apart from the wonderful interiors they showcased, two articles caught my attention, Social Graces by Bob Morris and 101 People You Must Meet Right Now.

THE CONCEPT OF PUNCTUALITY

SAM_6706As seen in the photo above I was literally glued to Bob Morris’ article on the concept of “being late” across the globe. I was hooked up from the first up to the last word as I was looking forward to understanding (or finding excuses) my own punctuality issues. I am not a morning person so coming to work on time is an everyday struggle.

Around February to March this year, I was right on track on my “coming to work before time” self advocacy as I have chosen to fast on being late for the Lenten season. But right after Easter Sunday, I slid back to my usual routine. I have a valid and unique (non-repeating) reason for oversleeping each day. But as stated in toto from the article “With everyone running on a personal schedule, how can you even tell what lateness is anymore?

On assemblies or even meet ups with friends I noticed that I come 5-10 minutes late on the agreed time and yet more often than not I turn out to be the earliest bird. When I was still studying at the university, we had a 15-minute grace period. So I wasn’t really late even if I was actually late as long as I come to class within the said grace period. Seriously I think there is a need to re-evaluate the concept of punctuality, in the workplace, in the Philippines, and in the whole world. I wouldn’t be surprised if 5 hours late will be “on time” in the future. Although the article mentioned the US President Barack Obama and English actor Robert Pattinson to be famously late, we should also inspire ourselves with George W. Bush and Anna Wintour.

(See their story at this virtual version of the article http://www.townandcountrymag.com/society/fashionably-late).

Personally I got my motivation for my lenten season’s short-lived punctuality after knowing from a friend who is a bank manager that her company’s owners and CEOs come to work around 15-30 minutes before time.

NICE TO MEET YOU

arncocoffeeMeet Arn, my supportive boyfriend. But aside from him, Town & Country annually releases their 101 People You Must Meet Right NowIf you casually watch tv here in the Philippines then Tony Meloto, Anne Aboitiz, Ramon Ang, Ben Chan, Rajo Laurel, Juan Ponce Enrile, Daphne Ozena and Piolo Pascual would be familiar names. But the need to meet them? That’s the interesting part you need to read yourself from the article. Daphne enumerated some other names in her blog http://daphne.ph/thank-you-town-country .

SAM_6690By the way the magazine was an August 2012 issue 😀 Better late than never right?

3 thoughts on “It’s Never Too Late

Leave a comment